Nigeria Police to Award Deserving Officers for Outstanding Performance

The Nigeria Police Force (NPF) has announced that it will award deserving officers for their outstanding performance in discharging their duties on Monday.

NPF disclosed that the nominees for the awards cuts across different categories nationwide.

This was made known in a statement issued by the Force Public Relations Officer (PRO), ACP Olumuyiwa Adejobi on Sunday.

“The Nigeria Police Force is set to reward deserving officers for their exemplary performance and dedication to duty at the Nigeria Police Awards and Commendations Ceremony scheduled to be held on the eve of Monday 15th April, 2024 at the Congress Hall of the Transcorp Hilton, Abuja.

“The ceremony which aims at motivating officers and men of the NPF to uphold the highest standards of professionalism and service will recognize and honour gallant, industrious, committed, honest and patriotic officers of the Force whose nominations were thoroughly scrutinised by the award Committee, and inspire officers to be more committed to their work by emulating award winners,” the statement reads in part.

The nominees for the awards and their respective categories include; SP Ogunmolasuyi Busola Mariam (Lagos State), CSP Mustapha Mohammed Musa (Ekiti State), and SP Kasumu Rilwan Oluporo (Lagos State) for the Investigator of the Year Award; SP Larrycarr Augustus Nwapi (Plateau State), CP Mohammed Usaini Gumel (Kano State), and CSP Adeniyi Adekunle (Ogun State) for the Community Policing Advocate of the Year.

In the same vein, the trio of Insp. Aminu Suleiman Jikamshi (Kano State), Insp. Adekola Joseph (Osun State), and Insp. Onyia Everistus (Enugu State) are nominees for the Detective of the Year Award; SP Garba Ibrahim (Katsina State), CSP Odeyeyiwa Oladimeji (Imo State), and DSP Adeyemi Akeem (Zone 2 Lagos State) for the Crime Buster of the Year Award and ASP Kabir Auwal (Katsina State), ASP Zubairu Usman (Adamawa State), and ASP Nnamdi Egbunike (NPF-NCCC) for the Cybercrime Buster of the Year Award.

The nominees also include; GD III Alabi Kayode, GD I Salisu Haruna and GD I Abdullahi Ibrahim for the Traffic Warden of the Year; SP Edafe Bright, SP Haruna Abdullahi, and DSP Daniel Ndukwe Ekea for the PRO of the Year; Cpl. Collins Obi, PC Tombrapa Grikpa, and Cpl. Abbey Yetunde as Sports Person of the Year and Operation Haba Maza Desert Intervention Squad Yobe, Federal Safer Highway Patrol (Yabo-Argungu/Sanyinna Road) Sokoto, and 40PMF Patrol Team Taraba for Patrol Team of the Year.

Others are; CSP Ihegboro Minachiso, ACP Kazim Olakunle Olayemi, and ACP Dere Yusuf Olalekan for Medical Personnel of the Year; CSP Babayola Mohammed Musa (DPO Bwari), SP Ojekunle Nurudeen Ishola (DPO Tarka), and CSP Shaba Aliyu (DPO Ekpan) for DPO of the Year; ACP Muhammad Musa, ACP Shehu Alao, and ACP Obigwa Francis Obigwa for Area Commander of the Year; and Insp. Daniel Shagbaor Kwaghaalade, ASP Madaki Wisdom Emmanuel, and SP Yetunde Olabisi Cardoso for Legal Officer of the Year.

The Nigeria Police also stated that the Award for Gallantry will be tussled by ASP Iro Shuaibu, SP Elaigwu Augustine and CSP Alphouse Andrew; Award for Integrity by Counter Intelligence Unit (FID), SP Okoi Emmanuel Iferi, and SP Idris Ibrahim; while SP Bako Angbashim, Insp. Iroere Friday, Insp. Abe Olubunmi, Sgt. Kuden Elisha, Sgt. Akpan Aniette, Sgt. Friday Ejemito, and Sgt. Ayere Paul will receive posthumous awards for their exceptional service.

“The IGP Special Recognition has CP Benneth Igweh (FCT), CP Olufemi Abaniwonda (Delta), Officers of the Special Squad I (Lagos), DSP Isaac Solomon Iko-Ojo, Men of 14 PMF Adamawa, ASP Godwin Hosea, and Inspr. Atagbede Eneojo all in the category.

“Also, the Special Achievement Award has DCP Mohammed Sanusi (Commander IRT), the NPF-NCCC, and DSP Ntul Sylvanus (EOD Borno) as nominees. Meanwhile, SP Moruf Akanbi Salami, CSP Ameh Lydia, and Police Medallists at the 13th African Games will receive the IGP Commendation; and CP Augustina Ogbodo (Ebonyi), CP Danjuma Aboki (Imo), and CP Olatunji Rilwan Disu (Rivers) will jostle for the Commissioner of Police of the year award,” NPF added.

It noted that a winner would emerge in each of the categories – and decorated by the special guests at the event.

Meanwhile, the Inspector General of Police, IGP Kayode Adeolu Egbetokun has lauded the junior officers who have been well represented in the nominees’ lineup for their outstanding noticeable performances.

IGP Egbetokun stressed that their excellent works earned them the nominations – and also emphasised their crucial role in maintaining law and order across the country.

He congratulated all the nominees and wished them ‘the very best’ at the ceremony. The IGP equally reiterated the dedication of the Force to fostering a culture of excellence and professionalism among its personnel.

He further charged all officers and men to continually show devotion to duty as the NPF looks forward to honouring more deserving officers in the future.

Hope Ejairu

Hope Ejairu is a writer, sports analyst and journalist, with publications on print and digital media. He holds certifications in various media/journalism trainings, including AFP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker