Leverkusen Wins Bundesliga Title After 120 Years with Unbeaten Run

Bayer Leverkusen have won the 2023/2024 German Bundesliga title for the first time in its 120 years of existence with an unbeaten run.

Leverkusen claimed the outstanding feat with five (5) games left for the season after decimating Werder Bremen 5-0 at Bay Arena.

Nigerian international, Victor Boniface opened the scoring 25 minutes into the clash with his 11th goal of the season through a spot-kick – and set up Granit Xhaka for the second in the hour mark.

(Photo Credit: @bayer04_en on X)

Florian Wirtz recorded hat-trick in the 68th, 83rd and 90th minute respectively to seal the success for Xabi Alonso’s side. Like Boniface, the German player has now netted 11 times in the current Bundesliga campaign.

“This is a very special moment for the club. Winning the Bundesliga for the first time in 120 years is something very special. The players are top. I am very proud of everyone,” Alonso was quoted as saying by sports journalist, Fabrizio Romano upon making history with the team.

However, the victory increases the champions’ tally to 79 compared to Bayern Munich’s 63 in second, who have same point with third placed Stuttgart – indicating a 16-point difference ahead of the German heavyweight who lifted the title last season.

The ‘Neverkusen’ sobriquet (never more) is now a thing of the past as the winners scored 74 goals and conceded 19 on the path to the record-breaking triumph.

Recall that Bayern Munich clinched the title for 11 seasons consecutively, including last season.


Hope Ejairu

Hope Ejairu is a writer, sports analyst and journalist, with publications on print and digital media. He holds certifications in various media/journalism trainings, including AFP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker